Mooch Soccer Game recognizes top senior players in the region – Trentonian

The coronavirus pandemic may have ruined the end of the 2020 high school football season locally by forcing the cancellation of the Glenn “Mooch” Myernick Senior Games, but that hasn’t stopped organizers of the annual event from taking time to honor some of Mercer County’s top female and male high school senior soccer players from this fall.

The Games are being played in memory of Myernick, who grew up playing football in Lawrence and rose to national and international fame, before his sudden death in 2006.

The Mooch Senior Games, which are coached and officiated by members of the Mercer County Soccer Hall of Fame, the event’s main sponsor, were to be played in Mike Lee’s honor this season.

Lee, recognized by many as the best umpire in the region, never accepted payment to work at the Games, which became a trend among his fellow umpires. The Hamilton High West graduate and MCSHOF inductee had worked in high school, college and in Mercer Men’s League games for the past 41 years before moving to Naples, Florida before the end of the season 2020.

For now, the hope is that a vaccine will be distributed, so the Games could return in late November 2021, possibly at Rider University’s Ben Cohen Field, its newest home.

To do this and to keep the event free to the public, the Mooch Senior Games will need renewed financial support from past sponsors such as Central Jersey Youth Soccer Association, EDP and MSSL Soccer, Bob Smith Soccer Academy, Fornaro and Francioso LLC and the Spadaccini Law Firm, the Arch Reid family of Princeton, Conte’s & the Baldino family, New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance, the Ancient Order of the Hibernians Club and American Legion Post 458. New sponsors are also welcome.

Here are the 48 senior male and 48 senior female footballers from Mercer County who would have been invited to play at the 2020 Mooch Senior Games. The plan is for each to receive a game jersey (red or white in memory of Mynerick’s Lawrence High teams) , which will be given to their coaches.



Olivia Denney, Kayla Denney, Kaylee Munster (Allentown); Marian Ordonez, Abigail Buker (Ewing); Maxine Marano, Madison Bressler (Hamilton West); Carina Garcia, Liz LeChard (Hightstown); Emily DeNero, Evana Hementez, Jamie Wills, Claire Tellier, Nicolette Evich (Hopewell Valley); Anna Hyson, Chloe Hill (Hun school); Joelle D’Angelo, Lauren Edgar, Briana Audet (Lawrence); Paige Gillen, Marcia Ojo (Lawrenceville School); Isabella Pesce, Nicole Rende, Maddie McCauley (Notre Dame); Gia Girman, Gabi Girman (Nottingham); Ella Radigan, Mya Ademilola (Peddie School); Kylie Daigle, Sophia Kavulich, Jordan Mahony (Pennington School); Kelly Beal, Jules Romano, Sophia Miranda (PDS); Vanessa Ponce, Greta Bush, Grace Heilbronn (Princeton); Brynn Hopkins, Becca Siracusa, Mary Fotiou, Mackenzie Martin (Robbinsville); Morgan Hart, Emma Nini (Steinert); Ruby Miranda (Trenton); Ashley Moritz, Sonia Nindra (WW-P North); Elizabeth Nielsen, Emma Gartenberg (WW-P South).


Evan Egnatovich, Jack Dendler, Crue Maglione, Aleks Bednarski (Allentown); Anthony Cruz, William Bolmer (Ewing); Jhardel Ortiz, Matthew Paterno (Hamilton West); Ariel Barreto, Luis Alvarado (Hightstown); CJ Colt, Mason Bursac (Hopewell Valley); Alex Donahue, Amar Anand (Hun school); Damian Szumigraj, Brennan Miller (Lawrence); Sunjay Riener, Spencer Lee (Lawrenceville School); Trevor Stio, Ryan Britton (Notre Dame); Devin Coleman, Zac Given (Nottingham); Aidan Loughran, Andy Quinn (Peddie School); Babacar Niang, Stas Korzeniowski, Jack Borden (Pennington School); Chima Chukumba, Will Sedgley (PDS); Nick Petruso, Jared Bell, Youri Laoui, Ethan Parker (Princeton); Skyler Frostrom, Sebastian Rosica, Josh Lichtenstein (Robbinsville); Dylan Kotch, Romario Azer, Mike Garofalo, Dante Falvo (Steinert); Bryan Ovalle, Michael Elizondo (CAW); Yobilyn Mateo, Moses Henry (Trenton); Joe Lilleywhite, Ian Damianov (WW-P North); Dan Grund, Andy Bae (WW-P South).